News Associates achieve two 100% gold standard courses

News Associates are celebrating another 100% gold standard NCTJ course – with all of their Manchester sports journalism trainees achieving the top qualification.

This outstanding achievement follows shortly after the London sports journalism course also finished the year with a 100% gold-standard pass rate.

Across both centres, 40 trainees on the academic year courses passed all their modules at A-C grade, along with 100 words per minute shorthand.

“I’m delighted that both of our centres have concluded with a 100% pass rate – it recognises the hard work of our talented trainees and fantastic tutors, and reiterates why we’re the number one place in the country to study for your NCTJ qualification,” said managing editor James Toney.

“Exam results are important, but equally as exciting are the job destinations they’re going on to achieve at our national newspapers and broadcasters.”

The course, which is run in conjunction with national press agency Sportsbeat, was the first NCTJ course to have a 100% gold standard pass rate last year.

“From interviewing now Olympic champion Elinor Barker to world heavyweight champion boxer Tyson Fury – or even manning the camera for a chat with Jeremy Corbyn – our 2015/16 SMD course were never shy of hard work and big names,” said head of journalism Andrew Greaves.

“I am confident they all have fantastic careers ahead of them.”

Former graduates include Sky News presenter Tom Macleod and journalists now working at national newspapers, broadcasters, agencies, in the local press, for Premier League football teams and sports governing bodies.

To follow in their footsteps, click Apply Now. Limited places are available for our 2016 intakes.

Congratulations to our September 2015 intake below:

Manchester trainees:

Tom Avery, Ned Bristow, Ellie Caddick, Kayley Dickinson, Niall Griffiths, Ed Higgs, Jonathan Hogan, Eve Langford, Adam Leah, Nic Marko, Jack Marshall, James Perkins, Josh Phillips, Duncan Robinson

London trainees:

Charlie Bennett, Sean Davies, Shona Duthie, Jake Evans, Katie Falkingham, Imogen Harry, Iqbal Johal, James Johnston, Felix Keith, Barnaby Kellaway, Dimitri Kondonis, Ross Lawson, Thomas McIlroy, Paul McNamara, Alice Piper, Tom Phillips, Tim Redigolo, David Rhys Marsh, Adam Shaw, Ben Smith, Jonathan Spencer, Sam Tobin, Ellie Walter, Mathieu Wood, Benjamin Youell, Ben Young